January 26, 2022, 06:02:24 am

The Gang Garrison 2 Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

NOTICE: Due to a rise in bot activity, new posters need to be approved before posting.

Join the community Discord server!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.  (Read 4482 times)

Muddywater

  • rotaredoM
  • Veteran Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Karma: 107
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2356
  • Hi.
Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« on: August 11, 2009, 07:15:16 pm »

I'm currently in the process of making a runner racer map, rr_onepoint. Since it is a rr map, it would be vital that I test the map periodically to see if it works, but whenever I try to test it, movement locks up on me.

By that I mean I cant hold down a/d to run, and to get any movement I need to mash a/d, which I cant do on the jumps.

I've reinstalled the builder, and that didnt work. I did a disk cleanup to see If it was lag, also didnt work. I've tried repeatedly to make it and hope for a different result.

Put in spawn marks, control point, test, failure. I tested to see if this also happened in gang garrison, and it wasnt.

This is the map I'm testing, if it helps.

(click to show/hide)

(click to show/hide)

:panic:
Logged
This message requires a Gold Forum Account™ in order to be read. Activate your free trial for gold membership by hitting CTRL+W!

skeleton dude

  • Guest
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2009, 07:30:50 pm »

By any chance are you testing this with my mod?
  :hehe:
Logged

Muddywater

  • rotaredoM
  • Veteran Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Karma: 107
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2356
  • Hi.
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2009, 07:32:39 pm »

By any chance are you testing this with my mod?
  :hehe:

You can't test maps w/ mods, I'm using the built-in tester

(click to show/hide)
Logged
This message requires a Gold Forum Account™ in order to be read. Activate your free trial for gold membership by hitting CTRL+W!

OMFGninja

  • Guest
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2009, 07:33:54 pm »

Move the .png you've embedded it to into your GG2 maps folder, go to gg2.ini, set rotation to sampleMapRotation.txt if it isn't already, put the name of your map in the text file sampleMapRotation.txt.

Then, open up GG2 (any version) and Host Game.
Logged

Muddywater

  • rotaredoM
  • Veteran Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Karma: 107
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2356
  • Hi.
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2009, 07:42:02 pm »

Move the .png you've embedded it to into your GG2 maps folder, go to gg2.ini, set rotation to sampleMapRotation.txt if it isn't already, put the name of your map in the text file sampleMapRotation.txt.

Then, open up GG2 (any version) and Host Game.

Still isn't working.
Logged
This message requires a Gold Forum Account™ in order to be read. Activate your free trial for gold membership by hitting CTRL+W!

[RGP]DC

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Karma: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
  • ????
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2009, 03:38:17 am »

This sounds a lot like the bug in GG2 that occurs when you play a map that your computer can't handle...although it's odd since it's a simple black and white map...

Well, can you normally play on maps like lostisland, montane, and helltrikky?
Logged

Saniblues

  • Onion Knight
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Karma: -1305
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12416
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2009, 12:59:11 pm »

Check the error log.
Logged
Quote from: mop
Quote from: MR MAGN3TIC
I don't like it.  :nah:
Oh, well, you might as well pack up and stop now, because he doesn't like it
I'm bored out of my skull, Lets play a different game!
Lets take a visit down below And cast the world in flames!

Muddywater

  • rotaredoM
  • Veteran Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Karma: 107
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2356
  • Hi.
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2009, 01:02:31 pm »

Check the error log.

How would I do that? And do you mean check it in the builder or the game?

 :drool:
Logged
This message requires a Gold Forum Account™ in order to be read. Activate your free trial for gold membership by hitting CTRL+W!

Saniblues

  • Onion Knight
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Karma: -1305
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12416
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2009, 01:04:13 pm »

The error log in the GG2 folder that says what all the errors are that's causing the error in your game.
Though, I forgot the name. You'd normally think you'd remember what the file name for an Error log would be since I'm the kind of guy that usually ends up sorting out errors in shitty mods.
Logged
Quote from: mop
Quote from: MR MAGN3TIC
I don't like it.  :nah:
Oh, well, you might as well pack up and stop now, because he doesn't like it
I'm bored out of my skull, Lets play a different game!
Lets take a visit down below And cast the world in flames!

Ocumuraj

  • New Member
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Damn you lower left pixel!!!!!
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2009, 09:35:25 am »

I'm having this problem as well, does anybody have a fix for it?
Logged

I am Engineer - Play Free Online Games

skeleton dude

  • Guest
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2009, 01:58:54 pm »

I'm having this problem as well, does anybody have a fix for it?
read the previous replies

and the forum rules while you're at it
Logged

gufu

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Karma: 21
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • Stop falling down, darn it.
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2009, 09:49:19 pm »

Strange. Such problem may only occur when you either run a mod, or have a broken object of some kind on your map.

What objects you used?
« Last Edit: October 07, 2009, 09:50:15 pm by gufu »
Logged

Shady Shootouts, a mod coming near you!
Maybe...

Muddywater

  • rotaredoM
  • Veteran Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Karma: 107
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2356
  • Hi.
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2009, 09:51:12 pm »

Hey. Are you sure that you made left-bottom-most pixel white, right?
The wallmask and background are in the first post, and they are white. If it wasn't then I wouldn't be able to move at all, I can move, but certain parts of the map kept me from holding down A/D to move, so jumping across the first pit is impossible.
Logged
This message requires a Gold Forum Account™ in order to be read. Activate your free trial for gold membership by hitting CTRL+W!

gufu

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Karma: 21
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • Stop falling down, darn it.
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2009, 10:31:41 pm »

Hey. Are you sure that you made left-bottom-most pixel white, right?
The wallmask and background are in the first post, and they are white. If it wasn't then I wouldn't be able to move at all, I can move, but certain parts of the map kept me from holding down A/D to move, so jumping across the first pit is impossible.
Yeah, I reread and fixed my post. Again, this is perhaps related to one of the objects you placed on the map. I think at least one of the GBs objects is bugged to hell.
Logged

Shady Shootouts, a mod coming near you!
Maybe...

Muddywater

  • rotaredoM
  • Veteran Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Karma: 107
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2356
  • Hi.
Re: Movement locks up on me when I test this map.
« Reply #14 on: October 07, 2009, 10:39:21 pm »

Hey. Are you sure that you made left-bottom-most pixel white, right?
The wallmask and background are in the first post, and they are white. If it wasn't then I wouldn't be able to move at all, I can move, but certain parts of the map kept me from holding down A/D to move, so jumping across the first pit is impossible.
Yeah, I reread and fixed my post. Again, this is perhaps related to one of the objects you placed on the map. I think at least one of the GBs objects is bugged to hell.
All that was in there was a single control point, it's capture space, and spawns for both teams. Nothing else.
Logged
This message requires a Gold Forum Account™ in order to be read. Activate your free trial for gold membership by hitting CTRL+W!
Pages: [1] 2
 

Page created in 0.025 seconds with 35 queries.