December 05, 2021, 02:10:05 pm

The Gang Garrison 2 Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

NOTICE: Due to a rise in bot activity, new posters need to be approved before posting.

Join the community Discord server!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Making the map work.  (Read 3350 times)

Spazz

  • Guest
Making the map work.
« on: February 05, 2009, 07:54:04 pm »

I have a question. I have taken this map (dm_duel) and imported the BG in GarrisonBuilderv1_2, then added the walkmask.
I thought that this was enough to use the custom map in a host game. Am I doing something wrong? Do i need to add Entries?
And to host a game using a custom map, do I type *maps/testmap*? Or am I missing something there too?    =/
I don't know if you have time, but can you give me a complete explanation on how to build, work, and host a custom map?

Sorry for the trouble
Spazz a.k.a Revy
Logged

juicebox360

  • Guest
Re: Making the map work.
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2009, 08:09:30 pm »

I have a question. I have taken this map (dm_duel) and imported the BG in GarrisonBuilderv1_2, then added the walkmask.
Good job

I thought that this was enough to use the custom map in a host game. Am I doing something wrong? Do i need to add Entries?
Entities make the map work - you add spawn points, add spawn room barriers, and intelligence (not applicable in all cases).

And to host a game using a custom map, do I type *maps/testmap*? Or am I missing something there too?    =/
Do it! You j00 wantz to.

I don't know if you have time, but can you give me a complete explanation on how to build, work, and host a custom map?
Do it! You j00 wantz to.

Sorry about that, if it wasn't much help. It's just a little booster - if you need more help, feel free to ask.
Logged

Saniblues

  • Onion Knight
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Karma: -1305
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12416
Re: Making the map work.
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2009, 09:38:46 pm »

Download b35 if you want to test maps. It's much easier in that version.
Also, don't forget to make the pixel at the very bottom-left part of the map white so you don't get stuck in the air.
Logged
Quote from: mop
Quote from: MR MAGN3TIC
I don't like it.  :nah:
Oh, well, you might as well pack up and stop now, because he doesn't like it
I'm bored out of my skull, Lets play a different game!
Lets take a visit down below And cast the world in flames!

cspotcode

  • Coder
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Karma: 134
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 411
Re: Making the map work.
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2009, 11:05:47 am »

Don't forget you must also embed the leveldata into the background image.  There's a button for that.

If you're still confused, feel free to ask.  I can give a much better explanation.
Logged
"The knack of flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
- Douglas Adams

Haxton Sale

  • The only true
  • Haxxy Organizer
  • *
  • Karma: 18
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3542
  • HAXTON SAAAAAAAAAAALE!
Re: Making the map work.
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2009, 11:33:29 am »

I have taken this map (dm_duel)
Thanks for taking my map.

I've posted it compiled, which means all you have to do is copy this png (background, not walkmask) to maps folder.
As far as I know, if you take compiled map and edit it in editor again it won't work (maby I'm wrong).

So, if you have dm_duel_v2 - just download it and copy into maps folder.
Logged
THIS POST GOT SIGNED BY

cspotcode

  • Coder
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Karma: 134
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 411
Re: Making the map work.
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2009, 02:43:07 pm »

I have taken this map (dm_duel)
As far as I know, if you take compiled map and edit it in editor again it won't work (maby I'm wrong).

You're correct.  Loading a compiled map png as BG in the editor will not give you access to the embedded walkmask and entity data.
Logged
"The knack of flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
- Douglas Adams

Saniblues

  • Onion Knight
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Karma: -1305
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12416
Re: Making the map work.
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2009, 02:47:29 pm »

If you want to test it, either download b35 or follow the tutorial for hosting with Custom Maps in the General Discussion section.
Logged
Quote from: mop
Quote from: MR MAGN3TIC
I don't like it.  :nah:
Oh, well, you might as well pack up and stop now, because he doesn't like it
I'm bored out of my skull, Lets play a different game!
Lets take a visit down below And cast the world in flames!

compileforme

  • New Member
  • *
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Making the map work.
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2009, 07:50:03 pm »

wait, so the background png becomes the compiled png? and a new one isn't made?
Logged

cspotcode

  • Coder
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Karma: 134
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 411
Re: Making the map work.
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2009, 11:02:17 pm »

That's right.  The garrison builder doesn't actually care about the background png that you load.  It cares about the one you choose when you click embed.  When you click embed and select a png file, it converts the walkmask and the entities into a special format that it embeds into a special, hidden place in the png file you specified.  When the game loads that file, it extracts the embedded data to get a walkmask and entities, and just loads the png file as an image to get a background.
Logged
"The knack of flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
- Douglas Adams

Haxton Sale

  • The only true
  • Haxxy Organizer
  • *
  • Karma: 18
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3542
  • HAXTON SAAAAAAAAAAALE!
Re: Making the map work.
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2009, 11:20:59 am »

If you want to compile compiled map again, simply open background (compiled map) in any editor (for example MS Paint) and save it again. It won't be compiled anymore.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2009, 11:21:49 am by Elkondo »
Logged
THIS POST GOT SIGNED BY

cspotcode

  • Coder
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Karma: 134
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 411
Re: Making the map work.
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2009, 06:33:25 pm »

If you want to compile compiled map again, simply open background (compiled map) in any editor (for example MS Paint) and save it again. It won't be compiled anymore.

Also, if I remember correctly, the editor is smart enough to replace any old embedded data in the png if you want to recompile.
Logged
"The knack of flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
- Douglas Adams
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.03 seconds with 35 queries.