May 09, 2021, 12:08:20 pm

The Gang Garrison 2 Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

NOTICE: Due to a rise in bot activity, new posters need to be approved before posting.

Join the community Discord server!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: [Client-Side] Camera shake  (Read 3629 times)

MrRatermat

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 179
  • PLUGINS PLUGINS PLUGINS!
    • NO TRUE SCOTSMAN WOULD PLAY GG2 WITHOUT PLUGINS
[Client-Side] Camera shake
« on: July 13, 2014, 01:09:10 pm »

Camera shake

This plugin causes the camera to shake when shots are fired and explosives are detonated.
The video doesn't properly show the effect. To experience it properly, try it yourself!

Update: Cleared delta timing because it caused problems
Update2: Fixed 60fps. It was spawning the shaker object before global.delta_factor was declared, which cause a crash, so I made it spawn the shaker object when the map was loaded instead.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2018, 03:31:45 am by MrRatermat »
Logged

NumLock

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 283
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2014, 01:53:58 pm »

looks cool :O
Logged

Saniblues

  • Onion Knight
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Karma: -1305
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12416
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2014, 02:47:58 pm »

Finally, I don't have to mod this into my client anymore.
Logged
Quote from: mop
Quote from: MR MAGN3TIC
I don't like it.  :nah:
Oh, well, you might as well pack up and stop now, because he doesn't like it
I'm bored out of my skull, Lets play a different game!
Lets take a visit down below And cast the world in flames!

.prime

  • "lLaRtT"
  • *****
  • Karma: -32679
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2928
  • :%)
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2014, 07:44:21 pm »

feel like this plugin was made for mlg montages
Logged
give usa host next time n put prime on other team so i can fuk on this nigga for tlaking shit
plz ban all european ips so we can keep gg2 clean

Spazz

  • Seasoned Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 44
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1933
  • Almost too much seasoning.
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2014, 07:34:54 pm »

Whatever kind of camera control you have beside the vanilla WASD, really dampens the true picture
(click to show/hide)
Logged

<3 Bustatunez

skeleton dude

  • Guest
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2014, 07:39:24 pm »

that's beautiful
Logged

Adrenaline Rush

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
  • Burp.
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2014, 06:08:19 am »

I really just want you to start posting links to direct or mirror downloads to the GML files, because honestly, I don't know how to use Game Maker.

Also it looks good.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2014, 06:08:41 am by Adrenaline Rush »
Logged
Are you bipolar, as in, a polar bear?

『AMLV』bobtehnoob

  • Seasoned Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 15
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2497
  • D̩͈̪͎̋e͖̅͂s̼̙͕̆͛ͅt̘̣͉̬̾̿̓̇͊ͅr̰̙͕̫͍̬o̭̖̥̲̳̣̍͗y̏̏́
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2014, 09:29:14 am »

what you do is copy the code provided into a text editor of any kind (notepad, etc) and save it as camerashake.gml, and make sure you save it as "file format: all files"
then throw it into your plugins folder
Logged

Quote
[17:57] <Nex> WTF BOB?! http://puu.sh/8T52s.png
[17:57] <Nex> How'd you break a GRAPH
Quote from: SkeleDude
Poop get out of here you belong in a real mans art thread

Adrenaline Rush

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
  • Burp.
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2014, 05:04:24 pm »

Okay, and...


___________________________________________
ERROR in
action number 1
of End Step Event
for object __newobject833:

Error in code at line 4:
       global.shakeIntensity *= 1 - (0.2/global.delta_factor);
                                               ^
at position 46: Unknown variable delta_factor



That.

How do I fix it?
Logged
Are you bipolar, as in, a polar bear?

Spazz

  • Seasoned Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 44
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1933
  • Almost too much seasoning.
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2014, 05:55:42 pm »

Is that due to using f60 delta timing while in f30 mode?
Cause Line 4 is "global.ShakeLevel = 4; //Default 4 - This is the level of camera shake to use."
and Line 19 in the new version is "    global.shakeIntensity *= 1 - (0.2/global.delta_factor);"

Try using -snip- and save as CameraShakeF30.gml
« Last Edit: September 10, 2014, 10:38:47 pm by Phantom Brave »
Logged

<3 Bustatunez

Adrenaline Rush

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 303
  • Burp.
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2014, 06:15:54 pm »

Is that due to using f60 delta timing while in f30 mode?
Cause Line 4 is "global.ShakeLevel = 4; //Default 4 - This is the level of camera shake to use."
and Line 19 in the new version is "    global.shakeIntensity *= 1 - (0.2/global.delta_factor);"

Try using -snip- and save as CameraShakeF30.gml

Well...it worked.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2014, 10:38:36 pm by Phantom Brave »
Logged
Are you bipolar, as in, a polar bear?

Catman

  • The Argumental
  • Veteran Member
  • ******
  • Karma: 18
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4381
  • Take on me
    • Yuki Yuki Yuki
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2014, 07:56:07 pm »

I told him about it a while ago now but he insisted that it wasn't the plugin causing the error...
Logged
My style is the best...
...so I challenge you!

MrRatermat

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 179
  • PLUGINS PLUGINS PLUGINS!
    • NO TRUE SCOTSMAN WOULD PLAY GG2 WITHOUT PLUGINS
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2014, 05:15:50 pm »

Is that due to using f60 delta timing while in f30 mode?
Cause Line 4 is "global.ShakeLevel = 4; //Default 4 - This is the level of camera shake to use."
and Line 19 in the new version is "    global.shakeIntensity *= 1 - (0.2/global.delta_factor);"

Try using -snip- and save as CameraShakeF30.gml
Please do not reupload the plugin. In future, contact me and I'll fix the bug.

I told him about it a while ago now but he insisted that it wasn't the plugin causing the error...
You were asking about plugin compatibility, of which I said there wasn't any, and any errors that occurred I can't help you with.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2014, 10:38:26 pm by Phantom Brave »
Logged

ajf

  • (Ex-?)Developer and forum/web admin
  • *****
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3492
  • she's never quite as dead as you think
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2014, 07:06:33 pm »

Is that due to using f60 delta timing while in f30 mode?
Cause Line 4 is "global.ShakeLevel = 4; //Default 4 - This is the level of camera shake to use."
and Line 19 in the new version is "    global.shakeIntensity *= 1 - (0.2/global.delta_factor);"

Try using -snip- and save as CameraShakeF30.gml

Quote from: MrRatermat's GG2F report
The following post, "Re: [Clientside] Camera shake" by Spazz has been reported by MrRatermat on a board you moderate:

The topic: http://www.ganggarrison.com/forums/index.php?topic=35733.msg1243201#msg1243201
Moderation center: http://www.ganggarrison.com/forums/index.php?action=moderate;area=reports;report=231

The reporter has made the following comment:
Please remove the link to this post, and related quotes. Thanks

Regards,
The The Gang Garrison 2 Forum Team.

...why did you report this?
« Last Edit: September 10, 2014, 10:38:16 pm by Phantom Brave »
Logged
aka Andrea.

did you know that spinning stars work like this???

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. execute_strings on fire off the shoulder of Overmars. I watched object-beams glitter in the dark near the room_goto_fix. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears...in...rain. Time to die.

Phantom Brave

  • All Hail Classicwell
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 70
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12701
  • Another one --
Re: [Clientside] Camera shake
« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2014, 07:23:41 pm »

>Please remove the link to this post, and related quotes. Thanks
Logged

http://steamcommunity.com/id/wareya/
ladies and gentlemen i would like to announce that the fact of the matter is up that the fact of the matter is a fact and it matters
Pages: [1] 2
 

Page created in 0.033 seconds with 37 queries.