May 28, 2023, 08:14:17 pm

The Gang Garrison 2 Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

NOTICE: Due to a rise in bot activity, new posters need to be approved before posting.

Join the community Discord server!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Arena Ctf  (Read 1516 times)

Sparky

  • Seasoned Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 17
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1484
  • ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Arena Ctf
« on: October 22, 2013, 05:03:44 am »

Heyyy
I wanted to know, does a plugin that allows to have 2 captures to win on ctf maps AND to have to win a different number than 2 rounds to win on arena (for example) exist?
Cuz If you want a server with only 2 ctf (Luke's server  :z5: ) to force people to defend, you have to win only 2 rounds on arena :'(
If there isn't, is it possible to create?
Thx  :c1:
Logged

ZaSpai

  • Ray Bann's Minion
  • *
  • Karma: 14
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2239
  • "Eeh?! We're just allies!"
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2013, 05:23:33 am »

I'm not sure if you mean combine Arena and CTF with best of 3 rounds, either by Arena or 2-cap CTF conditions, which would kinda be like Sudden Death mode in CTF like on TF2 servers sometimes.

Not much of a coder myself (the extent of my GM ability is semi-significant editing of the pacman and shooter demo games from way back in versions 5/6, plus sub-par GML ability), but skimming through the source file makes me think that you'd have to do this either as a hard mod or an addon that incorporates both CTF and Arena conditions.

To be honest though the game would probably just devolve to uber camping plus a few infils to pick off Leeroys (that or autogun spam which is annoying as hell)
Logged
Right behind you when you most expect it | classicwell master race

Intel Guard

  • GG2 Commentator
  • Retired Goja Warrior
  • ******
  • Karma: 44
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8672
  • the s*x number
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2013, 05:27:13 am »

Wait, I'm not sure what you're asking. Wouldn't you just change hat stuff in the .ini?
Logged
I've been listening to a bit of Green Day recently (past 2 months actually). Really raises the level of "fuckethesystem" in me.  :z5:
"god is dead."♫♫♫

[FR]YB

  • 2013 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: 28
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
  • There are 11 people playing holy sh
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2013, 05:55:56 am »

I think I got it, you want the number of captures in CTF mode to be different from the number of winning rounds in Arena mode, right?

I guess checking the game mode and changing the cap limit accordingly should work.
It should be quick to do, around 30 minutes at most, but I have absolutely no time right now, sorry.

Sparky

  • Seasoned Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 17
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1484
  • ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2013, 06:05:41 am »

I think I got it, you want the number of captures in CTF mode to be different from the number of winning rounds in Arena mode, right?

I guess checking the game mode and changing the cap limit accordingly should work.
It should be quick to do, around 30 minutes at most, but I have absolutely no time right now, sorry.

YEAAH that's it :D

Hum so, someone would create this plugin?
Thanks  :c1:
« Last Edit: October 22, 2013, 10:27:58 am by Sparky [GAYLORD] »
Logged

notarctic

  • just arctic, what gives?
  • ******
  • Karma: 8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4904
  • 👎👀 bad aim ba̷̶ ԁ aIm 👎 thats❌ some bad 👎👎aim
    • arcticland
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2013, 01:15:32 am »

yb, you take this one. i feel lazy right now
Logged
[1:37:51 PM] Derpduck: arctic u need to quote ppl that make shit posts in case they edit them
[4:20:15 PM] Rubeus Hashgrid: i cant discover anything fuck you imageshack

[FR]YB

  • 2013 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: 28
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
  • There are 11 people playing holy sh
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2013, 06:32:58 am »

Prrft, ok :z5:

Code: [Select]
global.capLimits_ctf = 2;
global.capLimits_arena = 4;

object_event_add(PlayerControl, ev_step, ev_step_begin, '
    if(global.isHost) {
        if(instance_exists(ArenaHUD)) {
            global.caplimit = global.capLimits_arena;
        } else if(instance_exists(ScorePanel)) {
            global.caplimit = global.capLimits_ctf;
        }
    }
');

There must be a way to make it better, executing this when entering a new room only, instead of every step, for instance.

notarctic

  • just arctic, what gives?
  • ******
  • Karma: 8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4904
  • 👎👀 bad aim ba̷̶ ԁ aIm 👎 thats❌ some bad 👎👎aim
    • arcticland
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2013, 05:35:02 pm »

Prrft, ok :z5:

Code: [Select]
global.capLimits_ctf = 2;
global.capLimits_arena = 4;

object_event_add(PlayerControl, ev_step, ev_step_begin, '
    if(global.isHost) {
        if(instance_exists(ArenaHUD)) {
            global.caplimit = global.capLimits_arena;
        } else if(instance_exists(ScorePanel)) {
            global.caplimit = global.capLimits_ctf;
        }
    }
');

There must be a way to make it better, executing this when entering a new room only, instead of every step, for instance.
make sure you resync the caplimit to the clients every time

edit: also you need to make the caplimit set back to default when you arent in ctf or arena dude. (i totally did not wait for you to make such mistakes so i could call you out on it  :hehe:)
« Last Edit: October 24, 2013, 05:38:00 pm by Shark Reaper »
Logged
[1:37:51 PM] Derpduck: arctic u need to quote ppl that make shit posts in case they edit them
[4:20:15 PM] Rubeus Hashgrid: i cant discover anything fuck you imageshack

Sparky

  • Seasoned Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 17
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1484
  • ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2013, 03:21:46 am »

Thanks !  :z5:
Logged

notarctic

  • just arctic, what gives?
  • ******
  • Karma: 8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4904
  • 👎👀 bad aim ba̷̶ ԁ aIm 👎 thats❌ some bad 👎👎aim
    • arcticland
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2013, 05:39:48 pm »

Thanks !  :z5:
did you completely ignore the bugs i pointed out just now!?
Logged
[1:37:51 PM] Derpduck: arctic u need to quote ppl that make shit posts in case they edit them
[4:20:15 PM] Rubeus Hashgrid: i cant discover anything fuck you imageshack

[FR]YB

  • 2013 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: 28
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
  • There are 11 people playing holy sh
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2013, 04:35:52 am »

Actually the cap limit only affects ctf and arena, if I recall correctly.
Also, I did test it before posting the code, and it looks like the cap limit is changed on the server before updating clients. So it looks like there's no additional sync needed.
I'll fix it if you find out, after using it, that it's needed, but at the moment there is no need to.

Sparky

  • Seasoned Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 17
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1484
  • ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2013, 02:09:39 pm »

Oh, i didnt read what you said, i dont use plugin , i asked it for Lucky Luke's server, and anyways, didnt understand what you said  :z4:
Logged

notarctic

  • just arctic, what gives?
  • ******
  • Karma: 8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4904
  • 👎👀 bad aim ba̷̶ ԁ aIm 👎 thats❌ some bad 👎👎aim
    • arcticland
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2013, 03:07:19 pm »

Actually the cap limit only affects ctf and arena, if I recall correctly.
Also, I did test it before posting the code, and it looks like the cap limit is changed on the server before updating clients. So it looks like there's no additional sync needed.
I'll fix it if you find out, after using it, that it's needed, but at the moment there is no need to.
hmmm, i dont host a lot so i probably wont be the one to hunt down the bug for you
Logged
[1:37:51 PM] Derpduck: arctic u need to quote ppl that make shit posts in case they edit them
[4:20:15 PM] Rubeus Hashgrid: i cant discover anything fuck you imageshack

notarctic

  • just arctic, what gives?
  • ******
  • Karma: 8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4904
  • 👎👀 bad aim ba̷̶ ԁ aIm 👎 thats❌ some bad 👎👎aim
    • arcticland
Re: Arena Ctf
« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2013, 06:55:18 pm »

Prrft, ok :z5:

Code: [Select]
global.capLimits_ctf = 2;
global.capLimits_arena = 4;

object_event_add(PlayerControl, ev_step, ev_step_begin, '
    if(global.isHost) {
        if(instance_exists(ArenaHUD)) {
            global.caplimit = global.capLimits_arena;
        } else if(instance_exists(ScorePanel)) {
            global.caplimit = global.capLimits_ctf;
        }
    }
');

There must be a way to make it better, executing this when entering a new room only, instead of every step, for instance.
have you tried looking at the roomchangeobserver object?
Logged
[1:37:51 PM] Derpduck: arctic u need to quote ppl that make shit posts in case they edit them
[4:20:15 PM] Rubeus Hashgrid: i cant discover anything fuck you imageshack

Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.039 seconds with 36 queries.