June 18, 2021, 04:36:29 am

The Gang Garrison 2 Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

NOTICE: Due to a rise in bot activity, new posters need to be approved before posting.

Join the community Discord server!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: In Game Map Changer [Host Only]  (Read 2999 times)

cmb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 337
  • Mario Bros
In Game Map Changer [Host Only]
« on: March 17, 2013, 04:58:52 pm »

If you're hosting a server and want to change to a diffrent map in your rotation thats like 5 maps away?
Well you can with this plugin.


NOTE:When the pop up thats asks for the map name appears, players wont be able to move on your server, so type it in fast

here are some screenies:

(click to show/hide)
« Last Edit: March 17, 2013, 04:59:24 pm by cmb »
Logged

Machidro

  • 2013 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1675
  • Gardicolo time is over.
Re: In Game Map Changer [Host Only]
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 06:45:03 pm »

Any error handling so that the server doesn't shut down if the map isn't in your folder?
Logged
A CHALLENGER HAS ARRIVED.

cmb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 337
  • Mario Bros
Re: In Game Map Changer [Host Only]
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 07:45:38 pm »

Any error handling so that the server doesn't shut down if the map isn't in your folder?

If the map isn't in the rotation a notice pops up saying the server tried to change to that map but failed.

t~

  • Seasoned Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 11
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1855
  • BOUTTA GET BANNED BY INTEL 5/1/2016
Re: In Game Map Changer [Host Only]
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2013, 07:55:08 pm »

Why's the map changer in your sig, twice?
Logged
^_^

cmb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 337
  • Mario Bros
Re: In Game Map Changer [Host Only]
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 10:10:36 am »

Oops needed it for the URL thingy.
Well I'll post the code in the op as soon as I get in my computer.

notarctic

  • just arctic, what gives?
  • ******
  • Karma: 8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4904
  • 👎👀 bad aim ba̷̶ ԁ aIm 👎 thats❌ some bad 👎👎aim
    • arcticland
Re: In Game Map Changer [Host Only]
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2013, 12:38:15 pm »

If you're hosting a server and want to change to a diffrent map in your rotation thats like 5 maps away?
Well you can with this plugin.


NOTE:When the pop up thats asks for the map name appears, players wont be able to move on your server, so type it in fast

here are some screenies:

(click to show/hide)
oooooh the endround plugin looks pretty just exited that someones actually using the plugin
Logged
[1:37:51 PM] Derpduck: arctic u need to quote ppl that make shit posts in case they edit them
[4:20:15 PM] Rubeus Hashgrid: i cant discover anything fuck you imageshack

Mew!

  • 2011 Haxxy Finalist
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 546
  • PAL5Q 1.15.2013
Re: In Game Map Changer [Host Only]
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2013, 01:01:15 pm »

Thanks, but people will probably complain of lag and the server might crash if I mistype a long map name. Does this work with default maps, too?
Logged

Tornadoblitz

  • Guest
Re: In Game Map Changer [Host Only]
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2013, 01:08:04 pm »

 Can you make it have the option to simply set the next map? That way, the game isn't interrupted.
Logged

cmb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 337
  • Mario Bros
Re: In Game Map Changer [Host Only]
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2013, 05:30:30 pm »

Thanks, but people will probably complain of lag and the server might crash if I mistype a long map name. Does this work with default maps, too?

The server doesn't crash if you mistype a name a notice popup appears saying that the map doesn't exist instead.
And yeah it'd works with derail maps

Orangestar

  • Veteran Member
  • ******
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4671
  • That's why I didn't delete this account.
    • Clicky Clicky
Re: In Game Map Changer [Host Only]
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2013, 08:35:25 pm »

a notice popup appears
ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

why not put it in the little notification area? You know, the little one that comes up when you try to build a sentry and you're low on metal?

Machidro

  • 2013 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1675
  • Gardicolo time is over.
Re: In Game Map Changer [Host Only]
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2013, 10:16:27 pm »

You should check the maps directory, rather than the map rotation, for a usable map. Currently, you can only play maps within your rotation, and I think that's fairly limiting. I feel one of the benefits of having map changing is the ability to play something special/stupid that otherwise would have no place on a normal server rotation.
Logged
A CHALLENGER HAS ARRIVED.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.037 seconds with 36 queries.