August 13, 2022, 05:11:47 am

The Gang Garrison 2 Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

NOTICE: Due to a rise in bot activity, new posters need to be approved before posting.

Join the community Discord server!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin  (Read 2359 times)

NikB

  • New Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
[Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« on: January 15, 2013, 11:23:53 am »

Is it possible to make a Randomizer Mod related plugin that would autiomatically (when a player joins the server) upload files from a certain GitHub repository, save them in a local folder and subsequently use them to change in-game graphics for all the clients? If yes, how do I make it work?

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2013, 11:24:27 am by NikB »
Logged
Trying to bring to life my dream of [creating worlds] making games. Keep trying...

Lorgan

  • Retired Randomizer Mod Developer
  • Resident Miku
  • *****
  • Karma: 28
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3657
    • My own website
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2013, 11:41:18 am »

uhhh, not really no...
Logged
Unfortunately, turning a section into a communist oppressive regime is not against the forum rules, so there is really nothing we can do.
Quote from: steam
21:08 - Hullusorsa: lorgan, when will you buy us the keys?
21:09 - Lorgan: i'm waiting for greece to collapse so the value of the euro drops
21:09 - Lorgan: not even joking

NikB

  • New Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2013, 12:56:33 pm »

So? I hope it probably means 'Yes'.
What way do I do that?
« Last Edit: January 15, 2013, 12:59:21 pm by NikB »
Logged
Trying to bring to life my dream of [creating worlds] making games. Keep trying...

Phantom Brave

  • All Hail Classicwell
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 70
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12701
  • Another one --
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2013, 01:21:01 pm »

GG2 clients are really, really dumb. The only things the server tells them are what's going on in the game and the map itself. You can't change client graphics without changing the clients to understand.
Logged

http://steamcommunity.com/id/wareya/
ladies and gentlemen i would like to announce that the fact of the matter is up that the fact of the matter is a fact and it matters

NikB

  • New Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2013, 11:51:48 pm »

GG2 clients are really, really dumb. The only things the server tells them are what's going on in the game and the map itself. You can't change client graphics without changing the clients to understand.

Didn't know about that... Well, another question then: is there a way to tell the player joining the server that he doesn't have a required version of plugin installed (if he doesn't) and send him somewhere he can download it from?
Logged
Trying to bring to life my dream of [creating worlds] making games. Keep trying...

Phantom Brave

  • All Hail Classicwell
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 70
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12701
  • Another one --
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2013, 02:13:34 am »

Might as well just be running a mod then.
Logged

http://steamcommunity.com/id/wareya/
ladies and gentlemen i would like to announce that the fact of the matter is up that the fact of the matter is a fact and it matters

NikB

  • New Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2013, 02:23:06 am »

No way to do that with a plugin?
Logged
Trying to bring to life my dream of [creating worlds] making games. Keep trying...

NikB

  • New Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2013, 03:10:33 am »

Please, help! I really have no opportunity to make a mod, but I still need to synchronize my GitHub repository with the plugin.
Logged
Trying to bring to life my dream of [creating worlds] making games. Keep trying...

Lorgan

  • Retired Randomizer Mod Developer
  • Resident Miku
  • *****
  • Karma: 28
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3657
    • My own website
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2013, 03:54:39 am »

It really is impossible without modifying both the server AND the client. And there is currently no way for the server to make a client download a plugin either.
Logged
Unfortunately, turning a section into a communist oppressive regime is not against the forum rules, so there is really nothing we can do.
Quote from: steam
21:08 - Hullusorsa: lorgan, when will you buy us the keys?
21:09 - Lorgan: i'm waiting for greece to collapse so the value of the euro drops
21:09 - Lorgan: not even joking

NikB

  • New Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2013, 04:29:40 am »

It really is impossible without modifying both the server AND the client. And there is currently no way for the server to make a client download a plugin either.

That's not great at all, but thanks anyway. Can I ask just one more question?

Let's say you already have a plugin installed. Is it possible to check (when you currently start your RM) whether do you have the latest version of the plugin or there are some available updates?
« Last Edit: January 17, 2013, 04:30:06 am by NikB »
Logged
Trying to bring to life my dream of [creating worlds] making games. Keep trying...

Lorgan

  • Retired Randomizer Mod Developer
  • Resident Miku
  • *****
  • Karma: 28
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3657
    • My own website
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2013, 04:36:05 am »

yeah a plugin could do that i'm pretty sure

edit: actually randomizer only loads the plugins when you open the host menu to prevent stupid people from trying to use vanilla plugins and then complain because they won't work. So it is possible but the client needs to have the plugin and open the host menu every time he loads gg2
« Last Edit: January 17, 2013, 04:40:39 am by Lorgan »
Logged
Unfortunately, turning a section into a communist oppressive regime is not against the forum rules, so there is really nothing we can do.
Quote from: steam
21:08 - Hullusorsa: lorgan, when will you buy us the keys?
21:09 - Lorgan: i'm waiting for greece to collapse so the value of the euro drops
21:09 - Lorgan: not even joking

NikB

  • New Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2013, 05:30:01 am »

Thanks. Could you please give me an example on how to make it work?
Or just please help me understand the basics.
Logged
Trying to bring to life my dream of [creating worlds] making games. Keep trying...

Lorgan

  • Retired Randomizer Mod Developer
  • Resident Miku
  • *****
  • Karma: 28
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3657
    • My own website
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2013, 06:07:28 am »

I made an example plugin:
(click to show/hide)

It's linked to my dropbox (but it could also work with github stuff i guess)
First it downloads the current version number from TestPluginVersion.txt (it's just a textfile with the number in it)
If the version is higher it will download the new version (it can currently only download textfiles so no images and stuff)
This testplugin doesn't remove the old file when it updated and it doesn't restart gg2 when the new version is downloaded so you would have to add that too if you were to use this. Also i made this for vanilla gg2 where the plugins get loaded at startup, in randomizer you can just create the object directly in the plugin i guess.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2013, 06:08:54 am by Lorgan »
Logged
Unfortunately, turning a section into a communist oppressive regime is not against the forum rules, so there is really nothing we can do.
Quote from: steam
21:08 - Hullusorsa: lorgan, when will you buy us the keys?
21:09 - Lorgan: i'm waiting for greece to collapse so the value of the euro drops
21:09 - Lorgan: not even joking

NikB

  • New Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2013, 06:58:13 am »

Thanks a lot! Will keep setting everything up.
Logged
Trying to bring to life my dream of [creating worlds] making games. Keep trying...

NikB

  • New Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: [Question][RM] Server-side sprite-loading plugin
« Reply #14 on: January 28, 2013, 11:16:24 am »

Sorry again.

Are there actually any peculiar properties related to using a GitHub repositry for getting some information from a certain file?
I just can't link my plugin to it for some reason (DropBox works though)...
« Last Edit: January 28, 2013, 11:17:02 am by NikB »
Logged
Trying to bring to life my dream of [creating worlds] making games. Keep trying...
Pages: [1] 2
 

Page created in 0.029 seconds with 51 queries.