May 16, 2022, 03:19:42 am

The Gang Garrison 2 Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

NOTICE: Due to a rise in bot activity, new posters need to be approved before posting.

Join the community Discord server!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: -  (Read 1924 times)

notarctic

  • just arctic, what gives?
  • ******
  • Karma: 8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4904
  • 👎👀 bad aim ba̷̶ ԁ aIm 👎 thats❌ some bad 👎👎aim
    • arcticland
-
« on: September 24, 2012, 04:07:39 am »

-
« Last Edit: May 10, 2015, 06:56:13 am by icy »
Logged
[1:37:51 PM] Derpduck: arctic u need to quote ppl that make shit posts in case they edit them
[4:20:15 PM] Rubeus Hashgrid: i cant discover anything fuck you imageshack

Dusty

  • 2012 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: -78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11006
  • Dust in a box under a table
Re: [REQUEST] serverside goomba stomp plugin
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2012, 05:02:08 am »

Just stop and think about that one for a second.
Think about that TF2 mod.
It's actually fairly difficult to goomba stomp someone in an fps. Impossible, no. Hard, yes.

Now think about Mario.
His world is fairly similar to GG2, right? A 2D platformer with crazy jumping.
Now think about how easy it is to stomp on things in Mario.
Now, think about the fact that behind each person you stomp is a player who is now at least slightly annoyed.
Sure everyone can do it, but that means that the server will probably degrade into everyone trying to goomba stomp people.

Orpheon

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 15
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6426
  • Developer
Re: [REQUEST] serverside goomba stomp plugin
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2012, 06:04:12 am »

Reminds me of RM jetpack. 'tis fun.

Someone please do this.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2012, 06:04:23 am by Orpheon »
Logged

Machidro

  • 2013 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1675
  • Gardicolo time is over.
Re: [REQUEST] serverside goomba stomp plugin
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2012, 09:19:55 am »

I'm wondering how to do it without client jitter. Is there a way to forge a client's keybytes as the server, and if so, would that solve the issue?
Logged
A CHALLENGER HAS ARRIVED.

Phantom Brave

  • All Hail Classicwell
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 70
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12701
  • Another one --
Re: [REQUEST] serverside goomba stomp plugin
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2012, 10:30:48 am »

>Is there a way to forge a client's keybytes as the server
Yes. The server rules everything. Only problem is dealing with clientside extrapolation.
Logged

http://steamcommunity.com/id/wareya/
ladies and gentlemen i would like to announce that the fact of the matter is up that the fact of the matter is a fact and it matters

Catman

  • The Argumental
  • Veteran Member
  • ******
  • Karma: 18
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4381
  • Take on me
    • Yuki Yuki Yuki
Re: [REQUEST] serverside goomba stomp plugin
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2012, 10:43:39 am »

Just stop and think about that one for a second.
Think about that TF2 mod.
It's actually fairly difficult to goomba stomp someone in an fps. Impossible, no. Hard, yes.

Now think about Mario.
His world is fairly similar to GG2, right? A 2D platformer with crazy jumping.
Now think about how easy it is to stomp on things in Mario.
Now, think about the fact that behind each person you stomp is a player who is now at least slightly annoyed.
Sure everyone can do it, but that means that the server will probably degrade into everyone trying to goomba stomp people.

Then there were the people who get insta-kills from their accuracy with the Market Gardener.
Logged
My style is the best...
...so I challenge you!

NAGN

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Karma: 146
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16769
  • Yeah so now I have an idea
Re: [REQUEST] serverside goomba stomp plugin
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2012, 01:30:06 pm »

I'm wondering how to do it without client jitter. Is there a way to forge a client's keybytes as the server, and if so, would that solve the issue?
you can force a keystate input but that's nothing to do with the way gravity is computed
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.031 seconds with 37 queries.