January 26, 2022, 05:48:17 am

The Gang Garrison 2 Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

NOTICE: Due to a rise in bot activity, new posters need to be approved before posting.

Join the community Discord server!

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6

Author Topic: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout (Medium) [PUSHED]  (Read 9633 times)

Phantom Brave

  • All Hail Classicwell
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 70
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12701
  • Another one --
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2012, 09:11:46 am »

I'd like to see whether the scout dancing me is able to jump again or not, so I'd like a different sprite.
now this is a better argument for it

this still isn't the kind of thing I would love in vanilla though
Change, bad.
I mean come on, this isn't too big of a change, would have strategic use...
Hell, I'll make the sprite if it's too much work, probably I can also get Lorgan to do the coding if that's too tiresome.
I'm just saying that I'm not gonna accept or do this personally
if some other dev does, that's fine

Blue: you're missing my point, again. People with particles off still see explosions and bullets. Having a single object for a single sprite isn't a big deal. If we had smoke trails, the people with particles off would just see a single puff, staying in place of where the jump happened, just as if a rocket exploded. No overhead, no lag, no nothing. Smaller change than switching to a whole new sprite. I play with particles off, I would know. You're making bad abstract assumptions.
Logged

http://steamcommunity.com/id/wareya/
ladies and gentlemen i would like to announce that the fact of the matter is up that the fact of the matter is a fact and it matters

Dusty

  • 2012 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: -78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11006
  • Dust in a box under a table
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2012, 09:16:12 am »

Bullets and explosions aren't particles so of course everyone sees them. And they are highly vital to the game, so again of course everyone sees them. And the code for this would probably be as simple as
Code: [Select]
if(doubleJumpUsed=true) animationImage = whatever+intel so don't tell me that the particle code, which again would need to be compliant with the particle setting, would take less code.

Phantom Brave

  • All Hail Classicwell
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 70
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12701
  • Another one --
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #17 on: March 07, 2012, 09:22:22 am »

1) I'd need to get sprites
2) I'd need to change the existing spritesheet
3) The scout spritesheet would be completely different than the other classes
4) The code for changing sprites would either be tacked on (bad) or rooted deeply into something irrelevant (bad) because there's no place for things like this
4) You're splitting hairs about what makes a particle

Explosions show that something happened that doesn't have a continuing affect on the game, while both implementations of showing whether a scout is jumping do.
The puff would be equally "particle" as explosions. Don't try to convince me otherwise, it's not gonna work. Chill on your splitting hairs.
People with particles on would be able to see the trail that doublejumping scouts move in. That's more informative and less changing than having a new sprite entirely.
Logged

http://steamcommunity.com/id/wareya/
ladies and gentlemen i would like to announce that the fact of the matter is up that the fact of the matter is a fact and it matters

Dusty

  • 2012 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: -78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11006
  • Dust in a box under a table
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #18 on: March 07, 2012, 09:27:11 am »

I'm 'splitting hairs' because you are so against something that would make the scout double jumping look just a little better for just a little bit of effort.

Phantom Brave

  • All Hail Classicwell
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 70
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12701
  • Another one --
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #19 on: March 07, 2012, 09:29:14 am »

Why does it matter that I, personally, am "so against" something that would make the game look better(subjective) for a little(you making assumptions) bit of effort?
Logged

http://steamcommunity.com/id/wareya/
ladies and gentlemen i would like to announce that the fact of the matter is up that the fact of the matter is a fact and it matters

Dusty

  • 2012 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: -78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11006
  • Dust in a box under a table
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #20 on: March 07, 2012, 09:31:44 am »

I'm not making assumptions. In fact I will open the gg2 source and find out exactly how little effort this would require.

Meower

  • Elder God tier or Fagthulu, the great
  • Community Manager
  • *****
  • Karma: 230
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23894
  • Went fat once, never went back
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #21 on: March 07, 2012, 09:32:25 am »

I'm against having particles, but I wouldn't mind something on the HUD telling me I have used my second jump or not, especially because there's a lot of times where you just walk off a slope and jump at the very end of it, only to find out that it didn't register properly so you don't have a second jump available until you try to jump again.
Logged

Phantom Brave

  • All Hail Classicwell
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 70
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12701
  • Another one --
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #22 on: March 07, 2012, 09:34:21 am »

I'm not making assumptions. In fact I will open the gg2 source and find out exactly how little effort this would require.
Okay. Good luck implementing it a good way.
I'm against having particles, but I wouldn't mind something on the HUD telling me I have used my second jump or not, especially because there's a lot of times where you just walk off a slope and jump at the very end of it, only to find out that it didn't register properly so you don't have a second jump available until you try to jump again.
It's not synced properly anyway so that wouldn't help :<
« Last Edit: March 07, 2012, 09:36:55 am by Wareya »
Logged

http://steamcommunity.com/id/wareya/
ladies and gentlemen i would like to announce that the fact of the matter is up that the fact of the matter is a fact and it matters

Meower

  • Elder God tier or Fagthulu, the great
  • Community Manager
  • *****
  • Karma: 230
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23894
  • Went fat once, never went back
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #23 on: March 07, 2012, 09:39:31 am »

But particles are?

Man, the more I look at this game the less I understand how netcoding works.
By the way, unrelated to the topic but autobalancing picks a player completely randomly or does it follow certain criteria?
Logged

Phantom Brave

  • All Hail Classicwell
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 70
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12701
  • Another one --
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #24 on: March 07, 2012, 09:40:44 am »

particles aren't synced either
Logged

http://steamcommunity.com/id/wareya/
ladies and gentlemen i would like to announce that the fact of the matter is up that the fact of the matter is a fact and it matters

Dusty

  • 2012 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: -78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11006
  • Dust in a box under a table
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #25 on: March 07, 2012, 09:48:53 am »

Wait what the fuck am I doing? This is how little effort it would take: Copy and paste the code that makes the sniper crouch, replace the condition to be doublejumping instead, and the sprite to be a scout sheet with a double jumping sprite instead. Boom, done.

Meower

  • Elder God tier or Fagthulu, the great
  • Community Manager
  • *****
  • Karma: 230
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23894
  • Went fat once, never went back
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #26 on: March 07, 2012, 09:54:54 am »

And if those two influence the game negatively, just let the players toggle 'em on and off. Do the same with chat bubbles and every minor thing like bullets disappearing et cetera and bam, low quality garrison 2.
Of course, I'm pulling this out of my arse so I'd like to hear if that's even a smart thing to do in the first place.
Logged

Phantom Brave

  • All Hail Classicwell
  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 70
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12701
  • Another one --
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #27 on: March 07, 2012, 10:24:46 am »

Wait what the fuck am I doing? This is how little effort it would take: Copy and paste the code that makes the sniper crouch, replace the condition to be doublejumping instead, and the sprite to be a scout sheet with a double jumping sprite instead. Boom, done.
so you're using an existing system for something else that is only obliquely the same?
genius programming
please never commit anything to gg2
Logged

http://steamcommunity.com/id/wareya/
ladies and gentlemen i would like to announce that the fact of the matter is up that the fact of the matter is a fact and it matters

Dusty

  • 2012 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: -78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11006
  • Dust in a box under a table
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #28 on: March 07, 2012, 11:36:18 am »

Your 'system' wareya, is an if statement and a draw_sprite_ext(). So, stop being an arrogant prick about things.

Orpheon

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Karma: 15
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6426
  • Developer
Re: Can we get a separate double jump sprite for the scout
« Reply #29 on: March 07, 2012, 11:44:22 am »

Code: [Select]
var sprite;
if zoomed
{
    if team == TEAM_RED
    {
        sprite = SniperCrouchRedS
    }
    else
    {
        sprite = SniperCrouchBlueS
    }
}
else if doublejumpUsed
{
    if team == TEAM_RED
    {
        sprite = scout_doublejump_sprite_red;
    }
    else
    {
        sprite = scout_doublejump_sprite_blue;
    }
}
else
{
    sprite = sprite_index
}
Clean, efficient, and easy.

Someone make me a good sprite. God.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2012, 03:46:37 am by Orpheon »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6
 

Page created in 0.043 seconds with 37 queries.