January 20, 2022, 05:31:28 am

The Gang Garrison 2 Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

NOTICE: Due to a rise in bot activity, new posters need to be approved before posting.

Join the community Discord server!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?  (Read 2097 times)

Dusty

  • 2012 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: -78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11006
  • Dust in a box under a table
Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?
« on: June 27, 2010, 07:23:59 pm »

i have two sprites named 'engCharger' and 'engCharger_ent'
it's a tool button and it appears in gb, and i can place the entity.
however if I reload the map, or if i load the map in the game (which i added code for it to create the engCharger), they don't appear.
what might i be doing wrong?

L

  • Guest
Re: Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2010, 07:27:09 pm »

mk um first when you place the entity save the entity file. Open the entity file and see if the entity is being written.

Also did you code the game to create the entity when it reads the level data.
Logged

Dusty

  • 2012 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: -78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11006
  • Dust in a box under a table
Re: Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2010, 07:29:26 pm »

mk um first when you place the entity save the entity file. Open the entity file and see if the entity is being written.

Also did you code the game to create the entity when it reads the level data.
yes to both.

L

  • Guest
Re: Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2010, 07:47:25 pm »

oh yes um by reload are you saying this map already had level data in it before you added the new entity into it?
Logged

Dusty

  • 2012 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: -78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11006
  • Dust in a box under a table
Re: Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2010, 07:52:02 pm »

oh yes um by reload are you saying this map already had level data in it before you added the new entity into it?
well, in this case partially.
i'm trying to add this to ctf_skyfort, which already has entities.
i hit compile map.
i load the map in the game.
the entity doesn't exist.

L

  • Guest
Re: Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2010, 07:55:22 pm »

Yea there's a problem with GB i dunno it just doesn't like to add new or different level data to a map that already has embedded level data and is loaded as an existing map; at least from my experiences that is.
Logged

Dusty

  • 2012 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: -78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11006
  • Dust in a box under a table
Re: Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2010, 08:06:31 pm »

Yea there's a problem with GB i dunno it just doesn't like to add new or different level data to a map that already has embedded level data and is loaded as an existing map; at least from my experiences that is.
does pyschopath's build fix this?

L

  • Guest
Re: Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2010, 08:15:58 pm »

i dont think he ever messed around with gb before. I told leiche but he said he didn't change anything with the compiling code so it was probably there before this version of gb
Logged

Dusty

  • 2012 Haxxy Award Winner
  • *
  • Karma: -78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11006
  • Dust in a box under a table
Re: Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2010, 08:18:25 pm »

i dont think he ever messed around with gb before. I told leiche but he said he didn't change anything with the compiling code so it was probably there before this version of gb
well the folder in the first lerch thread had a download named GahPsychopath...

L

  • Guest
Re: Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2010, 08:29:41 pm »

i dunno maybe psycho pestered him to hurry, but leiche made it
Logged

Psychopath

  • Developer In Training
  • ******
  • Karma: 167
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6696
  • Stop telling me to do things
Re: Hm. How do you add entities to garrison builder?
« Reply #10 on: June 30, 2010, 03:10:18 pm »

i dunno maybe psycho pestered him to hurry, but leiche made it
No, I asked for the GB file and it turned out that he accidentally hit delete topic instead of lock topic. He then uploaded it again with that name and in a new topic.
« Last Edit: June 30, 2010, 03:10:42 pm by Psychopath »
Logged
Quote from: IRC
(8:01:46 PM) Psychopath: I'm just wondering what the next hot thing to fall on my lap will be
(8:01:57 PM) Lynn1: a girl maybe?
(8:02:01 PM) Psychopath: :o
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.034 seconds with 35 queries.