October 06, 2022, 06:41:59 am

The Gang Garrison 2 Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

NOTICE: Due to a rise in bot activity, new posters need to be approved before posting.

Join the community Discord server!

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Trapped in spawn  (Read 3642 times)

Donnybrook

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Karma: -56
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 172
  • People ate the male fluid of my fertilization.
Re: Trapped in spawn
« Reply #15 on: November 14, 2009, 10:37:55 am »

Everyone would need to download on a mod to not desync then.
then how about you give the different players a number depending on who picked first (scout 1, scout 2, scout 3,...) and let only everyone below number x pass through. basicly the same shit and everything is done on the hosts side so no problems.
Logged
Donnybrook's weekly sentence of wisdom

Playing Medic is like Chicken Soup; either you can it or it's a sheer waste.

a/d

  • pro donglosaur
  • *****
  • Karma: 371
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Trapped in spawn
« Reply #16 on: November 14, 2009, 10:38:33 am »

Come back when you know what you're on about.
Logged
go canada or whatever, maybe your country is cool too

MedO

  • Owns this place
  • *****
  • Karma: 151
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1751
Re: Trapped in spawn
« Reply #17 on: November 14, 2009, 10:38:49 am »

You only need to mod the server to make it work perfectly.

You change classes by sending a class change request for the server, and then the server sends back a class change notification to everyone (including you). A modded server could just ignore class change requests if the limit for the requested class is already reached.
Logged
Quote from: Alfred North Whitehead
It is the business of the future to be dangerous; and it is among the merits of science that it equips the future for its duties.

Quote from: John Carmack
[...] if you have a large enough codebase, any class of error that is syntactically legal probably exists there.

Donnybrook

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Karma: -56
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 172
  • People ate the male fluid of my fertilization.
Re: Trapped in spawn
« Reply #18 on: November 14, 2009, 10:42:51 am »

Come back when you know what you're on about.

you are hilarious. both are perfectly fine ways to fix your broken bullshit.

you suck. :z8:
Logged
Donnybrook's weekly sentence of wisdom

Playing Medic is like Chicken Soup; either you can it or it's a sheer waste.

NAGN

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Karma: 146
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16769
  • Yeah so now I have an idea
Re: Trapped in spawn
« Reply #19 on: November 14, 2009, 10:43:43 am »

You only need to mod the server to make it work perfectly.

You change classes by sending a class change request for the server, and then the server sends back a class change notification to everyone (including you). A modded server could just ignore class change requests if the limit for the requested class is already reached.
gee, I thought you couldn't do that without unexpected data or wrong amount of players
Logged

a/d

  • pro donglosaur
  • *****
  • Karma: 371
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Trapped in spawn
« Reply #20 on: November 14, 2009, 10:48:09 am »

I think I created a global variable for each class if it was over a certain number, then in ServerPlayerChangeClass put if global.(etc) = false exit; but it never worked.

edit:

Ok, here's what I think I had.

Code: [Select]
ini_open("classLimits.ini");

if player.team == TEAM_RED && (instance_number(ScoutRed)>ini_read_real("ClassLimits", "ScoutLimit", "99"))
{
global.scoutsOver=true;
}
ini_close();

{
    class = CLASS_SCOUT;
    event_user(1);
}
for each individual class selection event in the ClassSelectController.

Then in ServerPlayerChangeClass

Code: [Select]
if global.scoutsOver or global.etcOver exit;

{  
    
    writebyte(PLAYER_CHANGECLASS, argument2);
    writebyte(argument0, argument2);
    writebyte(argument1, argument2);
}

edit again: also, global.etcOver=false; in Create.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2009, 10:57:09 am by Hot cars and fast women »
Logged
go canada or whatever, maybe your country is cool too

Walrus

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Karma: 16
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
  • Taconinja made my avatar.
Re: Trapped in spawn
« Reply #21 on: November 14, 2009, 04:00:25 pm »

Also if there is some idling fag and the class is over limit, you can get stuck outside the spawn.
Logged

How do I acheive alpha fool?
I'm also in [GG2DV]

a/d

  • pro donglosaur
  • *****
  • Karma: 371
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4989
Re: Trapped in spawn
« Reply #22 on: November 14, 2009, 05:36:11 pm »

Well, I tried to make a real class limit as you saw, but it doesn't work. It only affects the server host, which is just gay.
Logged
go canada or whatever, maybe your country is cool too

strustl

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
Re: Trapped in spawn
« Reply #23 on: November 15, 2009, 03:16:37 am »

A+D seem to work for me, not getting stuck in the spawn. have you tried not holding them at the same time. or walking in the direction where the spawn exits?

(sorry had to do this lol)
Logged


Pages: 1 [2]
 

Page created in 0.042 seconds with 35 queries.